Teacher education programs

Located at the heart of the Robert Morris University campus on the top floor of the Nicholson Center, the School of Education and Social Sciences offers all levels of degrees — certificates, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral — and serves students in Education, Criminal Justice, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology. All programs support the intellectual, social, and personal development of students, preparing them through the integration of technology, effective communication skills, and the application of theory into practice. Teacher Education programs are accredited through the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), one of only 18 schools to be approved by CAEP, out of over 90 teacher preparation programs in Pennsylvania.

The Vision of the Teacher Education Programs and the Professional PreK-12 Specialist programs within the Education Department is to produce highly effective teachers, specialists, and administrators who will positively impact local, regional, and national PreK-12 schools and learners. The Education Department strives to make RMU a “first choice” school for undergraduate and graduates who want to be career ready in the field of education and this is included in its Vision.

The shared values and beliefs for the Education Department are founded in the Scholar-Practitioner Model and reflected in the Danielson Framework for Teacher Education. This means the Education faculty is committed to building connections between scholarship and PreK-12 practice. The Scholar Practitioner Model is embedded in each teacher education and education specialist program through meaningful field experiences, engaged learning, and integrated technology, which in total enables students to be critical thinkers, reflective practitioners, and research oriented pre-service teachers or inservice professionals.


Robert Morris University School of Education and Social Sciences was last modified: October 14th, 2016 by The Sprout Fund